Sherman has budgeted $1.8 million to design a public-safety training facility in its adopted budget for fiscal year 2025, according to the bond-funded capital project list in the city's budget document. The same table that records the design money shows no construction appropriation for the facility in FY2025, which places this stage of the work in planning rather than building.
Source: Sherman FY2025 adopted budget, bond-funded capital project list
The item sits among several public-safety facility projects the city laid out for the year. Sherman's budget records a separate capital line to rebuild concrete at Fire Station 4, the Blalock station at 3117 Northgate Drive. The city's stations page lists that station as having been built in 2018. Two more fire projects appear in the same FY2025 capital plan: land for a future Fire Station 5 and a remodel of Fire Station 3.
Sherman Fire-Rescue describes a training program that already runs on a set schedule. The department's training page states that firefighters complete monthly fire training to meet Insurance Services Office requirements, and that its Training Division coordinates advanced rescue instruction. The page lists rope and high-angle rescue, swift-water rescue, trench rescue, and confined-space rescue among the specialized areas the division arranges.

The department's fire page on the city website links to the Haz-Co Emergency Response Training Center as an external training resource. The page does not state how often, or whether, firefighters use that center, nor whether a completed public-safety training facility would change that arrangement.
The budget language separates what is funded now from what would come later. Because the capital table pairs a design appropriation with no matching construction figure for the year, the document on its own does not commit the city to a build schedule or a final cost.
The records reviewed for this report do not state that a training tower is under construction, do not give a construction start date, and do not name a site for the facility. They also do not confirm any earlier training tower or a removal in 2015. Those details could not be verified in the city records reviewed and are not stated here as fact.
Residents can read the figures in the city's adopted FY2025 budget, posted in Sherman's online document center, and in the stations and training pages maintained by Sherman Fire-Rescue. Those records hold the appropriations, the station address and construction year, and the description of the department's current training program reported here.

Join the conversation
Comments